15 EVMs damaged in first phase of polling


NEW DELHI: Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha on Thursday said action would be taken against the culprits, who damaged the electronic voting machines (EVMs) during the first phase of the Lok Sabha election.

“A total of 15 electronic voting machines (EVMs) were damaged due to vandalism on Thursday”, the Election Commission said.

“Action should be taken against those who damaged the EVMs under various sections of the Indian Penal Code”, they added.

As per the report, there were six reports of EVM damage from Andhra Pradesh, five from Arunachal Pradesh and one each from West Bengal and Bihar and two reports from Manipur.

On Thursday morning, polling held in 91 constituencies spread across 18 states and two union territories for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Meantime, voting is also held in 175 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, 32 in Sikkim and 28 seats in Odisha.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook