Last phase of voting begins in 59 seats across 7 states


NEW DELHI: Polling for the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha polls began on Sunday morning in 59 Lok Sabha seats spread across seven states and one Union Territory.

The Election Commission has set up more than 1.12 lakh polling stations and has deployed security personnel for smooth conduct of polls.

It will decide the fate of 918 candidates including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is contesting from the Varanasi seat in Uttar Pradesh.

Modi's main challengers are Congress's Ajay Rai and SP-BSP grand alliance's nominee Shalini Yadav.

Over 10.01 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise.

Voting is underway in Punjab (13), Uttar Pradesh (13), West Bengal (9), Bihar (8), Madhya Pradesh (8), Himachal Pradesh (4), Jharkhand (3) and one seat in the Union Territory of Chandigarh (1).

A bypoll is being held in Panaji, necessitated due to the death of former chief minister Manohar Parrikar in March.

Bye-elections are also be held in four assembly constituencies of Tamil Nadu including Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC) and Thiruparankundram and the Dehri assembly seat in Bihar.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook