Rahul Gandhi urges voters to 'Vote for Nyay'


NEW DELHI: As voting for the second phase of polling started on Thursday morning, Congress president Rahul Gandhi urged voters to ‘vote for Nyay’ (Vote for Justice).

He used the hashtag ‘VoteNyayVoteCongress’.

The Congress president also said vote for justice to the unemployed youth, struggling farmers, small businessmen and those who were persecuted due to their religion or caste.

‘Nyay’ is also the social welfare scheme announced by the Congress party in its election manifesto.

On March 25, Rahul Gandhi had announced, under this scheme, the poorest 20 per cent families of the country will get income support of Rs 72,000 per annum.

On Thursday morning, Polling began for 95 Lok Sabha seats spread across 11 states and the Union Territory of Puducherry with Tamil Nadu witnessing contest in 38 constituencies.

Voting was also underway in 35 assembly constituencies in Odisha and in 18 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu.

On April 11, the first phase of Lok Sabha elections was held in 91 constituencies spread across 18 states and two union territories.

175 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, 32 in Sikkim and 28 seats in Odisha was held on the same day.

Polling in all the Lok Sabha constituencies of Andhra Pradesh (25), Telangana (17), Uttarakhand (5), Meghalaya (2) and Arunachal Pradesh (2) besides lone seats in Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar, and Lakshadweep were held.

Eight seats in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Maharashtra, six in Bihar, five in Assam, four in Odisha, two each in Jammu and Kashmir and West Bengal and one seat in Chhattisgarh have also faced the polls.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook