2 Trinamool Congress, 1 CMP MLAs from West Bengal Join BJP


NEW DELHI: In a major political development that will have far reaching impact in West Bengal, Two Trinamool Congress and one CPM MLAs today joined the BJP in New Delhi. 

All of them represent Assembly constituencies under Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency. The three legislators are: Subhranshu Roy and Tusharkanti Bhattacharjee (Trinamool Congress) and Devendra Roy (CPM).

Some 50-60 councillors of the TMC also joined the BJP posing serious problems for the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Earlier in the day, 16 TMC Councillors of the Kanchrapara Municipality collectively withdrew from TMC Councillor' Party and 20 TMC councilors from Garifa said they are joining the BJP.

This development takes place in the backdrop of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi declaring during his election campaigns in West Bengal that at least 40 TMC legislators were in touch with him and join the BJP.

After winning 18 out of 42 seats in West Bengal this general elections the BJP is now eyeing next year’s civic polls to set the stage for 2021 assembly elections. 

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook