Yedyurappa sworn in as 23rd Karnataka CM


BENGALURU : 9 AM B S Yedyurappa has been sworn in as 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka. Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the BJP leader at a brief ceremony at Raj Bhavan at 9 am. No other minister has taken oath along with the chief minister. The ceremony lasted only six minutes.

Union Ministers Anantha Kumar and D V Sadananda Gowda were among the central leaders present on the occasion. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP national chief Amit Shah, who used to be present when the party assumes power in states, kept off the function.

This is because of the uncertainty over the majority of the party in the 224-member Assembly. The party which secured only 104 seats was invited to form the government by the governor as the single largest party. The governor has given Yedyurappa 15 days time to prove his majority on the floor of the house.

Workers of the Congress and Janada Dal (S) had gathered outside the Raj Bhavan and protested the governor’s decision to ignore their plea to form a government despited showing a list of 117 MLAs supporting the post-poll alliance.

Image Credit : The Indian Express

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook