77.62 per cent voter turnout recorded in 4 constituencies in TN


CHENNAI: By-elections to four assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu on Sunday recorded an overall 77.62 per cent turnout.

On Sunday, Polling were held in four assembly constituencies of Tamil Nadu including Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC) and Thiruparankundram

Besides, re-polling in 13 polling stations were also held smoothly.

A total of 137 candidates including those from the AIADMK, DMK, TTV Dhinakran led AMMK and Kamal Hassan's MNM were in the fray in the four seats.

Bypolls to 18 of the total 22 vacant assembly seats were held on April 18, the rest went to hustings on Sunday.

According to Election Commission officials, there were some reports of EVM glitches which were resolved immediately.

In Aravakurichi (84.28 per cent), Sulur (79.41), Thiruparankundram (74.17) and Ottapidaram (72.61) voter turnout were recorded in the by-election which held on Sunday.

An average 84.13 per cent polling was recorded in the 13 polling stations, where re-poll had been ordered.

With this, byelections have been completed in all 22 vacant seats in the 234-member state assembly.

Eighteen segments had gone for bypolls on April 18 along with polling in 38 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Eighteen of the 22 seats had fallen vacant following the disqualification of AIADMK MLAs loyal to ousted leader TTV Dhinakaran under the anti-defection law in 2017.

The outcome of the bypolls will have a bearing on the K Palaniswamii government as the ruling AIADMK needs to win a significant number of seats to retain a comfortable majority.

AIADMK has a strength of 113 minus the Speaker in the House with 22 vacancies. The simple majority in the full house is 117.


With inputs from PTI


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook