Every religion has its own terrorist, says Kamal Haasan


CHENNAI: Makkal Needhi Maiyam (MNM) founder Kamal Haasan on Friday said every religion has its own terrorists and that no one can claim to be sanctimonious.

Kamal Hassan was at the centre of a raging row over his Hindu extremist remarks.

On Sunday, while addressing an election campaign in Aravakurichi, Makkal Needhi Maiyam (MNM) founder Kamal Haasan had said free India's first ‘terrorist was a Hindu’.

He was referring to Nathuram Godse, who killed Mahatma Gandhi.

"I am not saying this because this is a Muslim-dominated area, but I am saying this before a statue of Gandhi. Free India's first terrorist was a Hindu, his name is Nathuram Godse. There it terrorism apparently starts," he had said.

He said he had made similar comments in Chennai during the Lok Sabha election campaign but it was being taken note of now by those people whose confidence is dipping.

"Let me tell you terrorists abound all religions. Every religion has its own terrorists and we cannot claim that we are sanctimonious and we have not done that. History shows you that all religions have their extremists," he said.

The actor-politician had filed an anticipatory bail after an FIR was registered in Aravakurichi in Karur district for his remarks.

While asking if he had filed an anticipatory bail plea in the Madras High Court fearing arrest, Haasan said:

"I don't fear arrest but I have got campaigning to do. Let them arrest. But if they arrest me tensions will escalate. This is not my request but an advice," he said.

Aravakurichi is one of the four Assembly constituencies, where bypolls are scheduled on May 19.

MNM has fielded S Mohanraj from this segment.

On Tuesday, BJP leader Ashwini Upadhyay had filed a criminal complaint against MNM and Haasan in Delhi’s Patiala House Court for allegedly hurting religious sentiments of Hindus by associating terrorism with Hindu religion.

BJP leader Ashwini Upadhyay had said Haasan’s statement was intended to outrage religious feelings of Hindus and also breached the Model Code of Conduct.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is being held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Counting of the votes will be done on May 23.


1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook