Polling underway in TN, CM Palaniswami cast vote


CHENNAI: Polling for Tamil Nadu's 38 Lok Sabha constituencies and bypolls in 18 assembly segments began on Thursday.

In Tamil Nadu, polling is being held in 38 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats. Polling in Vellore Lok Sabha seat was cancelled on Tuesday by the Election Commission following the recovery of a huge amount of cash allegedly from an associate of a DMK leader recently.

The state's electorate is 5.84 crore (after deducting the 14.26 lakh voters in Vellore).

Polling stations were filled with voters even before 7 am and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K Palaniswami cast his votes from his native Salem district.

Senior Congress leader P Chidambaram, superstar Rajinikanth, BJP's Tamil Nadu unit chief Tamilisai Soundararjan and actor and Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) president Kamal Haasan also cast their votes from their respective places.

Tamil Nadu has a total of 67,720 polling stations and 7,780 booths have been categorised as critical and vulnerable where more Central Armed Police Forces personnel and micro observers were deployed.

Measures like webcasting and videography of the proceedings are also in place.

As many as 1,50,302 ballot units, 89,160 control units and 94,653 VVPAT which allows the electors to cross-check the votes they have cast for seven seconds are available.

According to the sources, there were no reports of any untoward incidents anywhere in the state. However, technical glitches delayed polling in a number of booths.


With inputs from PTI



1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.

Follow us on Facebook